Chocolate Brown Nursery

January 23, 2008 § 72 Comments

Just yesterday I received a comment (see nonib17 under Chocolate Brown Wall Color) suggesting chocolate brown for a nursery wall color. What a great idea (for which I can take NO credit)!

Before you say “brown??” for a baby’s room, consider the qualities of the color. Brown is a very soothing color, obviously something you’re looking for in a nursery. It’s dark and calming and perfect for sleeping, also something you can appreciate in a nursery. The color goes beautifully with all kinds of accessory colors. All the pinks, from ice pink to bubblegum look great with chocolate brown. All the baby blue hues from ice blue to light turquoise also look terrific with chocolate. And even the more contemporary nursery bedding ensembles all go well with brown.

Then when the child gets older, you can swap out the baby accessory colors and sub in the more contemporary cool kid colors, like orange, purple, lemon yellow, and green. Each of those crayola colors mixed with a large serving of white will create a smashing kid’s room, all against the original chocolate brown wall color.

Adolescent girls love hot pink and red — both will look terrific with brown. And your videogame-crazed boy may benefit from pairing brown with some calming earth tones. For the more sophisticated high schooler, nothing looks better with brown than luscious cream paired with a punch of lime green or rusty red.

Chocolate brown walls will take your child from infant to college-bound in style.

Tagged: , ,

§ 72 Responses to Chocolate Brown Nursery

  • Katherine says:

    I have a question. I’m planning on painting our foyer a warm chocolate color, but I’m having trouble figuring out what to accessorize with on the walls. Seems like everying I like (shelves, frames,…) are brown too!! I don’t really like the look of cream or white frames and black, again, is too dark. Do you have any suggestions?

  • bmeglis says:

    Hi Katherine,

    I suggest a metal that would add sparkle and help to reflect light around the foyer. The “silver” metals, either shiny or satin finish may just do the trick.

    See what you think.

    -Barbara
    Your Home & Color Coach

  • Steph says:

    I am expecting a baby and dont know the sex. I am thinking of doing pink and brown for a girl and blue and brown for a boy and buying the bedding after he or she is born. However, I would like to paint the room brown, not sure what shade yet, and we are looking to buy furniture now. What finish furniture would you recommend w/ a brown wall?
    I would think white? but then some people were saying, white finish furniture for a boy?? i say why not, but do any other finishes go w/ a brown wall?

  • bmeglis says:

    Hi Steph,

    Congratulations, first of all. Yes, white or cream is best for the furniture, but any light wood will work. I would select the crib and other furniture first and then pick a brown that goes with it. Ash wood might lead you to a cocoa color, whereas a light oak might lead you to a warmer brown. Either way, you’ll have a great-looking nursery.

    Best of luck to you.

    -Barbara
    Your Home & Color Coach

  • Ujwala says:

    I have 3 celery green and one little dark green wall and all cherry furniture in my living room. We like a Sofa which is Honey color and with 4 reclyners it is from Russel furniture stiore. Do you think it will look good on green walls? The living room gets lots of light. At night time we have recessed light. There is Fire place which is dusty brick color from ground up. Regular celings. We haven’t bought the TV mount yet, but mostly it will be cherry too.

  • bmeglis says:

    Hi Ujwala,

    Since the sofa is a neutral color, it should go with whatever room color you have, green or anything else. Sounds fine.

    -Barbara
    Your Home & Color Coach

  • jenniferscolorhelp says:

    reading about chocolate wall color and am having a hard time deciding whether or not to paint my master bath chocolate. I have lots of light and high ceiling but am afraid it will look too dark. Can anyone help please as I have pictures. My master bedroom is aqua blue and chocolate and I am painting the taupe walls a color called oyster soon. will be painting my water closet in the master bath the aqua blue in a faux finish also. anyone’s help would be much appreciated! Thanks, Jennifer

  • bmeglis says:

    Hi jenniferscolorhelp,

    You can insert a link to some photos right here in the blog reply and I will give some suggestions.

    The best way to test a dark color is to paint it on a piece of foam core board and tape it up to the wall. Then stand back, close one eye and kind of squint as you block off the view of the rest of the room with your hand. You can really see what the room might look like. Don’t forget to test the color board out on the ceiling. If you have enough light and a high enough ceiling, you might consider putting the brown up there to tie the two rooms together.

    Looking forward to your photos.

    -Barbara
    Your Home & Color Coach

  • Thank you so much for the reply and suggestions. I have created a photobucket slideshow of my project so far. I have painted many colors on the walls after stripping the wallpaper and feel ready to move on from the mess soon. Just don’t want to have to go through this again for a quite some time as I have done 4 other rooms since January of this year! I like everything so far and I am trying to tie these rooms all together. The master has been the most difficult as I was “country” decor before and as you can see, I have gone a completely different route this time.
    Again, thank you so much.
    Jennifer

  • bmeglis says:

    Hi Jennifer,

    Thanks for sending the photos. But I think you’re right — the dark brown is going to be too dark for that bathroom with the dark wood trim. I suggest taking the teal blue of the towel and going really light with that to kind of an ice blue-green. The dark wood trim will tie the brown in nicely as will the towels and accessories. (unless you’re planning to paint the trim — that’s a different story).

    Also, I think I would take the color right up over the ceiling to maximize perception of space. And with a cozy brown rug on the floor to ground the room, you should be all set.

    See what you think.

    -Barbara
    Your Home & Color Coach

  • I have thought of painting the trim but much too much right now and my husband would not like it as well. I like the thought of the light aqua and doing ceiling also. I just was concerned with the light colored tile, countertop and toilet that it would not look warm enough. The wallpaper I had tied them all together but I will NEVER have wallpaper again. What a project to remove with the high ceiling.
    I will go get some sample paint of the light aqua and take my towel with me.
    Thank you again! I wll post pics of the “lighter” version of my bathroom.
    Jennifer

  • Allison says:

    I recently saw a model home where the master BR and bath were a light blue and the celing was a chocolate brown and I loved it! We are builing a house and was wondering what other bold ceiling colors would look good….Also, what other colors beside blue would look good with the chocolate ceiling?

  • bmeglis says:

    Hi Allison,

    As for ceiling colors, it depends on the height of your ceiling, but you can paint it almost anything. Light colors will reflect the most light so if you have a dark room or a low ceiling, you might go toward pastels or tints of the wall color.

    But if your ceiling is high, painting it a dark color like chocolate, navy blue, and even black will make it seem like outer space in that room. The ceiling will seem like it’s gone. But during the day, it will be dark because the dark ceiling will soak up whatever light comes in the room.

    As for colors that go with chocolate, ice pink is nice. Also a light minty green. And of course all the natural colors like tans and creams. Just about everything goes with chocolate. But I would use a light color to allow for the dramatic contrast that you saw with the light blue. And don’t forget about metallics. They can really make a dark room very dramatic.

    Hope that inspires you to go ahead and paint your ceiling chocolate!

    -Barbara
    Your Home & Color Coach

  • Allison says:

    Thanks for the suggestions! I have a new question now! What do you think of a kelly green dining room? Our dining room is open to the great room (there is pole to seperate ..hope that makes sense). I plan to do the great room a tan or light khaki color…..

  • bmeglis says:

    Hi Allison,

    Well? Kelly green is definitely a green for green-lovers as it tends to conjure up warm memories of St. Patrick’s Day. But if you’re either not Irish or an alumna of Notre Dame, you might consider a softer shade of green for the dining room. Dark olive shades are more soothing as they are prominent in nature and can be paired with all the autumn colors like reds and golds that go great in a dining room. Also look good with tan and khaki.

    See what you think about moving the kelly part of the green to a more muted greyed-down olive area of the paint wheel.

    And I’m even Irish… ;–)

    -Barbara
    Your Home & Color Coach

  • Allison says:

    Ha ha. I don’t like Notre Dame and I am not Irish! ha ha

    Perhaps I used the wrong word in “kelly” green. I guess when you are talking about wall color, you should be exact! I picked up a few samples at Lowes over the weekend. Here they are, are you familiar?

    Moss 6 (LA 1012)- Laura Ashley Home (I like this one the best)

    Cliveden Pasture (6001-6c)valspar (this is all that is on the back besides Lowes)

    Fresh Tarragon (MS298) Martha Stewart

    And perhaps doing the Kitchen and HEarth room in

    Fern Shoot (MS271)- Martha Steward

  • bmeglis says:

    Hi Allison,

    Well, I should have known — you seem to have very good taste. I love the moss. Actually, any of those colors would be wonderful in your dining room. Very fresh! Just put some cream in front of it (dishes, etc.) and you’ll have a terrific dining room.

    -Barbara
    Your Home & Color Coach

  • Maria says:

    Hi
    I was hoping for some color guidance!!! we’re in the process of doing a playroom. And I needed some guidance on what color(s) to paint the walls.

    There is brick in the room (where there was a wood burning stove).
    There is going to be light wood stained b-board along the room as a bottom-border. We have a cranberry leather couch that is going to be in the room.

    I am torn what color we should paint the room … since it is going to be a play room. i am also wondering if it will look good to paint two walls one shade… and then the other two walls a slightly darker shade? (i might me making things more complicated.. )but i’ve seen that in some people’s homes and have really liked the way it looks.
    Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks!

  • bmeglis says:

    Hi Maria,

    One suggestion is to paint the walls a fresh green like Ben Moore’s folk art (528). It will contrast nicely with both the brick and the cranberry leather and it is a life-giving color. Great for kids’ areas.

    As for painting the walls different colors or shades, I would have to see the room to know if that would work. But generally, a playroom is going to have lots of stuff in it and tends to be rather cluttered. I think I would keep the walls as soothing as possible to maintain adult sanity. You can certainly put lively pictures and photos on the walls to add more punch to that upper area.

    See what you think.

    -Barbara
    Your Home & Color Coach

  • DaJuana says:

    Hello Barbara! I need help desperately…I am pregnant with my first baby and I am trying to get the nursery together. I am having a tough time because we bought a crib that is oak on pine…I have a photo of it, but I don’t know how to upload it on the computer for you to see it. Anyway, I am trying to pick a wall color to paint the nursery that would look really good with the color of the wood of the crib. I was thinking brown, but then I thought it might be too dark or just wouldn’t look good. If we are having a girl, the bedding will have be reds and tans…I think there might even be a touch of a really light green in the bedding as well; but if we are having a boy, then I think the bedding will be tans and browns with teddy bears…Can you help me figure it out??? We find out the gender of the baby in 5 days! I’d like to paint the room the week after we find out so that I can get it done while I have some free time on my hands!

  • Meg says:

    My hubby and I are expecting our first child and just bought a house that has a chocolate brown room. We were thinking of a chocolate brown/pink or blue nursery and so decided to leave the room chocolate. Would a honey oak furniture work with that. We are then going to use all solid pinks or blues for the bedding and drapery. What do you think?
    Thanks in advance,
    Meg

  • bmeglis says:

    Hi DaJuana,

    I think my vacation and your paint schedule overlapped and I’m sure you’ve finished your room by now having discovered the sex of your baby. Congratulations, by the way.

    If you are still stuck with the room color, write back and I’ll answer right away.

    -Barbara
    Your Home & Color Coach

  • dalela says:

    I love the color warm and what it represent. I love it so much that I painted my kitchen walls a brownish color (dive cliff by Dutchboy); now I am at a lost with what color cabinet to go with…could you point me a right direction as far as color. My cabinets are presently white. In addition i have stainless steel appliances. I would appreciate any advise or opinion at this point….lost in the paint.

  • bmeglis says:

    Hi dalela (#23),

    Are you sure you don’t like the white cabinets with the brown walls? Is the contrast too sharp? If so, you can warm up the cabinets by painting them the lightest tint on your wall color paint chip. That will blend them better with less contrast.
    Stainless steel appliances look good with everything. Not to worry about that.

    -Barbara.
    Your Home & Color Coach

  • Denise says:

    I am looking for a new wall color for my family room. I was wanting to do something with brown, but don’t want it to appear to dark. My upholstery is in dark sage, with light tan accents, cherry wood, and dark tan tile floors.

    What shade of brown (or dark gold) would you suggest that would compliment the sage upholstery?

    I have thought of doing a dragging technique with glaze with a cream like undercoat, but just can’t figure out a shade of brown.

    Any suggestions?

  • bmeglis says:

    Hi Denise (#25),

    Try Ben Moore’s harvest bronze (1146) or butterscotch sundae (1147). They’re wonderful warm golden browns and they look good with other woods.

    -Barbara
    Your Home & Color Coach

  • Molly says:

    Hi Barbara
    I just stumbled onto this site looking for colors to put with chocolate brown. We just recently purchased a home with a beautiful large master bath with 1/2 cream carpet and the other 1/2 is marble. I bought chocolate brown bath mats, but I am wondering what color to put with it. Our house is older, so the tub and toilet are a peachy color, but I don’t want to put that as my color scheme. I was really thinking of light sage or something of that nature. Can you offer suggetions?

    Thanks!
    Molly

  • bmeglis says:

    Hi Molly (#27),

    A light sage with the peach and the chocolate brown would be very soothing for your master bath. Another idea is a very light blue, but I like the sage idea better. Less jarring and more soothing.

    -Barbara
    Your Home & Color Coach

  • Lynda says:

    Hi:

    My daughter is moving into her very first apt. in Chicago. Her bedroom is tiny to say the least. Ceiling is high, light wood floor, and she does have a beautiful window, lots of light. Trim is white. She would like chocolate brown and ice blue scheme. Walls are white now, but should I just paint one wall chocolate brown? The ceiling and leave the walls white? Or should I paint the walls the ice blue color. Her duvet cover is a solid ice blue. Also, the accessories in the room (she can only have one small table) should that be white? She has no headboard for the bed so I was thinking of constructing a simple one with wood and batting and covering with perhaps a textured, rough silk? of an ice blue and chocolate thin stripe.
    Thanks! Any suggestions would be appreciated, especially on how to paint.

  • bmeglis says:

    Hi Lynda (#29),

    I suggest painting the walls ice blue. Since her duvet cover is ice blue, the bed will blend into the walls and take up much less visual space in the room. Having said that, you could paint the headboard wall chocolate brown with the ice blue and chocolate striped headboard in front of it. That would look great.

    Since it’s an apartment, I would leave the ceiling white — they’re a pain to paint (and repaint when she leaves). But if the ceiling is smooth plaster, you could bring the ice blue right up over the ceiling if you feel inspired.

    If the side table is something you’d like to focus on (along with the headboard), then chocolate would be nice. Or you can use a white side table with a chocolate table lamp on it. Either way. Then add some more chocolate in the artwork and maybe a throw for the bed.

    Congratulations to your daughter — she’s really lucky to have a handy mom like you.

    -Barbara
    Your Home & Color Coach

  • Lynda says:

    Thanks so much for the great suggestions! I’m going to paint like that (I think it will be stunning) but now I have more questions….LOL!
    My daughter has already purchased an ice blue comforter. It is textured with a stripe pattern (all the same color) but NO bedskirt! What color bedskirt should I get? I already purchased a beautiful chocolate throw that is nubby looking.
    Also, the accessories on the walls, should they be silver toned? Will that wash out on the ice blue walls? For instance, sconces with candles, its difficult to find those in a brushed silver…what do you suggest?
    Plus, do I need a third color to “punch” up the room? What would you suggest as a third color?
    Thanks so much!!

  • bmeglis says:

    Hi Lynda (#31),

    Go with a chocolate brown bedskirt to ground the bed. Then you can use dark brown/bronze metal sconces if those are easier to find than the brushed nickel. Either will work although the brown will show up better against the wall. And there’s nothing like a punch of bright orange in an ice blue room. Since orange is blue’s complementary color, it will pop, as they say…

    Hope that helps.

    -Barbara
    Your Home & Color Coach

  • Lynda says:

    Thanks so much Barb!

  • Ro says:

    Hi Barbara,
    I am so glad I found your site! I need some serious help in picking colors for my daughter’s nursery. I love the combination of pink and brown.

    We have a honey wood floors, a white crib and white changing table, bedding which is pink and white (with either a tiny bit of orange or red, I haven’t decided).

    I want to paint the walls: pink on top, then a white line (as if it was a chair rail but it isn’t) and chocolate brown below… Do you have any benjamin moore specific paint color ideas for the pink and brown?

    Also, can my bedding and accents also have splashes of some other color (for example a tiny amount of bright red or bright orange or bright blue), or is that one too many colors?

    Thanks!

  • bmeglis says:

    Hi Ro (#34),

    Have a look at Ben Moore’s Fox run (1229). It is a very soft brown with pink undertones. I think it will be very nice with the pink and white in the room. And sure, you can add accent colors, but I would stick with cooler tones like lime green or sky blue and let the pink and brown provide the warmth in the room. Save the orange and red for when she graduates to a toddler/big kid room decor.

    -Barbara
    Your Home & Color Coach

  • Shannon says:

    Barbra,

    We are expecting our first child in February and we have not found out the sex of the baby. So far I have bought a light wood oak crib, an antique cradle and end table that is a what i would call a sea foam green.. The room has a chair rail and I am really having trouble picking out wall color… I was thinking about neutral type browns on the wall but am not very design savvy. I was wondering what your opinion on my wall color dillema was?

    THANKS!

  • bmeglis says:

    Hi Shannon,

    Congratulations, first of all!!

    One option you might consider for your baby’s room is a variety of light happy greens. You’ve started with the blue-green sea foam end table. What about a Ben Moore Folk Art (528) wall either above or below the chair rail. Then Etched glass (626) for the other half of the wall with a white chair rail running through it. With white curtains and your oak furniture, you’ve got a fresh, vibrant room that’s also as soothing as a day at the beach.

    The color scheme can go either way once the baby is born. Blues will fit right into the scheme and so will warm pinks.

    See what you think.

    Barbara
    Your Home & Color Coach

  • yybrown says:

    I am trying to decide on what color(s) to paint my nursery. I’m having a girl and I’m really stuck on using red in the room. My husband doesn’t like red and would prefer something neutral like beige. He could probably live with pink or green but I’ve never been a fan of pink, and I would like something a little different. I also love the idea of using chocolate brown in the room but I’m afraid those colors may be to dark or may not work well together.

    Since we are really undecided and can’t come to an agreement I thought I’d get an impartial opinion. I’m not opposed to using either color as an accent color, doing stripes, circles, etc. By the way, I’m not totally against green but almost every room in my parents’ house has some shade of green and I couldn’t wait to get away from it!!

  • bmeglis says:

    Hi yybrown,

    Congratulations, by the way!

    I suggest that you find some bedding that you really love and choose a wall color from that. If you’re sticking with white (and that’s fine), then you can introduce your red onto the floor by way of an area rug. That way, you can keep the walls a little more calm and conducive to sleeping (you’ll know what I mean soon enough…).

    Of course, you can use red elsewhere as an accent, either as a graphic on the wall, as art, or in other accessories like lamps. You might add lime green to your accent palette as well (I know, not in the wall color).

    Start with a fresh neutral, maybe a light, soft creamy yellow, and build from there. (I would not pair red with dark brown walls unless you’re having a boy. It’s quite a masculine look. But brown with light pastel pink is really pretty.) If you don’t like pink, I would stick with lighter walls and use your bold colors as accents.

    All the best to the new family!

    -Barbara
    Your Home & Color Coach

  • Lori says:

    My son and daughter-in-law are expecting a daughter soon. Their house is a berm meaning they have windows in all the front of the house but not in the bedrooms. Their nursery is a medium size with a nuetral beige-type carpet on the floor. They tend to lean towards sage and nuetral beige colors in the rest of the house. She would like to have something different in the baby’s room, but doesn’t know where to start. They already have custom bedding with several shades of green. Any ideas of what paint color to use or any hints to help lighten the room?

    Great site, by the way.

    • bmeglis says:

      Hi Lori,

      Ben Moore’s Hawthorne yellow (HC-4) is a wonderful soft color for a baby’s room and so is Weston flax (HC-5). Either of those will add a warm glow to the dark room. If she’d rather have pink, look at Warm blush (892) and ambrosia (892) for a soft baby pink that’s not too bubblegummy. Congratulations to you and the new family.

      -Barbara
      Your Home & Color Coach

  • Lori says:

    Thanks so much. I’m having a hard time getting anything done today for reading all the rest of the questions and your responses. I went to the Benjamin Moore website and checked out the colors you recommended. I think either of the first ones would be perfect. Thanks again for your help.

  • Adina says:

    Hi Barbara,

    This is somewhat similar to the previous nursery posts. I am having a boy (#3!) and I am so tired of blue and green that I decided to go with a sock monkey theme (reds and browns with cream). I have 4″ wood trim in the nursery that is an antique white color and I am planning on accessorising with reds- I was going to do a light brown for the walls but I want it to be very warm and sometimes light browns look cool and flat. I love the idea of doing a chocolate brown especially with the light trim but I have been having trouble finding a brown that has warmth to it. Can you suggest any chocolate brown colors (1st choice), and/or any light browns (2nd choice) that have some warmth to them? Thank you- your tips are great!

    • bmeglis says:

      Hi Adina,

      Congratulations! Have you seen Ben Moore’s Old Canal 1132? Or a golden Harbor Highlands Tan 1139? Check those out and see if one works for you.

      Best of luck with your expanding family!!

      -Barbara
      Your Home & Color Coach

  • Katy says:

    I am trying to create a nursery that will be shared by a infant girl and a 3 1/2 yo boy. I was planning on painting the wall one color and decorating each of their sides completely differently and maybe having some sort of divider between the sides. I think I have decided on Behr’s Brown Teepee color for the walls and Carter’s Love Bug set for the nursery bedding/decoration. For the boy’s side, I am going to do a car’s theme (blue/red mostly). I really want my son to feel that he has his own space, which is why I wanted to decorate his side just for him. I am not sure what to do for a divider (curtain, folding screen) but I do know that I want to pull it back during the daytime. There is also a cieling fan right in the center of where I would want to separate the room. Will this look too crazily different? Oh and we have white trim, a light beige rug and light wood furniture. Does anyone have any thoughts/suggestions? Any would be greatly appreciated!!

    • bmeglis says:

      Hi Katy,

      I think you’re right to create a space for your little boy that makes it feel like his room even though he has to share, at least for now. You have a couple of options for doing that:

      You can certainly create two distinct palettes with a common wall color (I would keep the trim white for a uniform and crisp look) as you’ve suggested and make the single room look like two. For a divider, I would avoid anything that might come crashing down, like a folding screen. Hanging a curtain from the edge of the room about 4 ft toward the center (rod hung from ceiling) can create a cozy feeling on both sides without completely dividing the space. But furniture placement can also divide a room without any curtain at all. Just another option.

      As for the color scheme, another option would be to change from cars to maybe cowboys, using the taupe color of the room and browns and other earth tones to coordinate with the crib bedding but create a boy zone on the other side of the room. Then you wouldn’t feel the need to divide the two sides at all. The room would look pulled together colorwise, but the themes would be different yet complementary. Bugs and flowers on one side, horses and prairies and stables on the other. You might even put a wallpaper border on your son’s wall to really bring home the theme. But it’s not necessary.

      Just another idea. Good luck with the room.

      -Barbara
      Your Home & Color Coach

  • Katy says:

    Oh I am also willing to paint the trim any color!

  • Jodie says:

    Hi Barbara,

    I am considering carpeting our new home in a dark brown/chocolate colour but am worried how this will look in the children’s rooms. Most of my son’s bedding and accessories are in Navy, red and white, while my daughters is in yellow, pink and lavender. Do you think these will go with the carpet? Also, should I leave the walls white? I know they would love to paint their walls a colour but am wondering if it would be too much with the dark carpet and colours in the furnitings. Thanks in advance for your advice.

    Jodie

    • bmeglis says:

      Hi Jodie,

      You might consider using a different carpet color for the two children’s rooms. Pick a lighter neutral that will go with each child’s decor and make the rooms lighter and brighter for them. Then you can paint the walls a color out of the decor from each room and see how happy your children are with the end results.

      Good luck.

      -Barbara
      Your Home & Color Coach

  • Patsy says:

    I have just completed a remodel on a 1930′s house, basically a tear down and add – on. The second story is a game room and I painted the walls a very dark chocolate brown, trim white, and ceiling light tan. The floors are dark wood and the pool table is dark. I have contemporary paintings in red, orange yellow, turqoiuse and green (horses). Any suggestions for lamps and accessories? Couch is dark brown leather, one chair in antique mexican sarape rugs ( same colors as above) and light tan leather chair. Room is 34×15. I love the colors, just having a hard time pulling it all together. Thanks so much

    • bmeglis says:

      Hi Patsy,

      I suggest pulling more colors out of your artwork, particularly the turquoise and green and using those as accent colors. Not for lamp shades (those should be white for maximum light in the room), but the lamp base. And other accessories. You have a lot of warmth already with the browns and tans. Now you need some contrast and the blues and greens (with a punch of orange here and there) should do it. Pillows, lamps, large pieces of pottery, whatever you can find to finish the room.

      Sounds great!

      -Barbara
      Your Home & Color Coach

  • Neil says:

    Hello, I have a 12X18 room with a chair rail. Its all purpose room. dark wood computer desk, italian leather navy blue couch with chrome and grey accessories. with a beige carpet. I really want to go chocolate in this room. Should I go ceiling to floor or maybe let the top half be another color. I have a neat navy, orange/gold portrait with a silver frame

    • bmeglis says:

      Hi Neil,

      Start painting under the chair rail and see how much you like the chocolate color. Then you can go up several shades on the same paint chip and paint the upper part of the room that tan color. But start below and work up. If you love the chocolate and want to keep going all the way up the wall, then go for it. The room will be dark so you’ll need more chrome/silver and lots of lighting.

      Good luck.

      -Barbara
      Your Home & Color Coach

  • Lisa says:

    Barbara,

    I want to paint my master bath a dark brown. Currently the color is a warm yellow on the walls as well as the ceiling. Do you recommend just the walls brown or the ceiling included?

    • bmeglis says:

      Hi Lisa,

      If you have a high ceiling and tons of light (both recessed and sconces), then you can go up over the ceiling with the brown. But it will be dark in there without the lights on.

      If you’re concerned about light, then keep the ceiling a lighter color (maybe an accent color) that will reflect more light coming in from the window.

      Hope that helps.

      -Barbara
      Your Home & Color Coach

  • Missy says:

    Hi! I stumbled upon this post while trying to find a good accent color for chocolate brown. We are looking to paint our master bedroom, which is currently the original builder’s beige paint. Our comforter is chocolate brown, which I love, and I am looking to some good accent colors for the walls. I love dark, warm colors, like browns, reds, golds, but I am clueless about what would go best on the walls with the brown. Our furniture is a medium wood. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated! Thank you in advance.

    • bmeglis says:

      Hi Missy,

      Take a look at Ben Moore’s Roxbury caramel (HC-42) as a possibility for your wall color. Then a rich red like maple leaf red (2084-20) for the accent wall behind the bed. That should give you a very warm cozy bedroom. See what you think.

      -Barbara
      Your Home & Color Coach

  • megan says:

    Hey,
    I bought a baby bedding set from ebay. My baby girl will be arriving in august..and im lost as to what color to paint the walls! I think theres almost too much brown in the set to go with brown on the walls.. but im not really sure if the bluish turquise color will look right on the wall either..and should i do a accent wall with brown or turquise.. i was thinkin maybe a cream or somethin along that line? i have an espresso crib and dresser from sears.. its called the aspen. Im sooo lost! please help!! thank you!

    Meg

    http://cgi.ebay.ca/NEW-GIRL-BLUE-AND-BROWN-BABY-INFANT-CRIB-BEDDING-SET_W0QQitemZ370194392227QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?hash=item370194392227&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1215%7C66%3A2%7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318

    • bmeglis says:

      Hi Megan,

      Congratulations, first of all…

      Yes, those two colors are a bit strong for the wall color. How about either a warm neutral like Lambskin (Ben Moore OC-3) or a soft pink like Bashful (1171). There will be plenty of pink in the room as soon as the toys and clothes arrive so there’s a precedent for the pink walls. But if you’re steering away from pink for your baby, then stick with the Lambskin and use the turquoise for your accent color. If you want an accent color in the room, I would go with chocolate and not the bright turquoise (for her teen years…)

      Good luck.

      -Barbara
      Your Home & Color Coach

      • megan says:

        Hey Barbara,
        Its Megan again. I now have the bedding in my home.. and its definately not a tuquise color in the bedding. its a seafoam green color. I still really love the bedding. the brown in the set is extremely dark. i still dont know what to paint the nursery. i looked at the lambskin color.. and i think it would have went great with turquise.. but not sure it will go well with the seafoam green. I was told at the paint store to go with a color thats a little lighter then the seafoam… what do u think? I want the room to look like its for a little girl.. but dont want it pink.. i wanted to do some kinda designs on the wall also. but im not too creative! Any advice u have would be great… thanx!

        Meg

      • bmeglis says:

        Hi Megan,

        I love the idea of taking the seafoam green color and putting the “iced” version of that color on the walls (the lightest or second lightest color on the paint chip). If you take the bedding right to the paint store, they will help you. Then, you can add your accent colors to the room. Don’t worry, the seafoam will look like a girl’s room. No problem there.

        As for designs on the walls, you might want to add them through large pieces of artwork that are easily switched as opposed to painting designs directly on the walls with paint. But if you want to try that, pick simple shapes (a bunch of balloons, large colorful flowers, polkadots?) that are easy to do free hand. Plus, it’s only paint — you can paint over it if you don’t like it.

        Have some fun with the room. When your daughter is older, she will have her own ideas about what the room should look like. For now, it’s still yours.

        Good luck.

        -Barbara
        Your Home & Color Coach

      • megan says:

        Thank you so much.. im definately following your advice. I was also wondering if i should i do a darker wall? like the chocolate? or no? cuz im thinkin it might be too dark. but everyones telling me that i should do one wall a different color?
        I actually bought 2 extra curtains with my bedding set. I think im going to cut some squares out and put them behind shadow boxes. what do u think? Or should i steer away from more bedding colors? lol. Im sooo lost! This is only the second room in our house that will be painted! All other walls are just a grey/white tone.. its pretty sad.. cuz im too nervous to paint it! lol. I started out with the smallest bathroom and did the worst paint job ever! lol. so if i gain more confidence in the babies room.. then im probably gonna be askin u for more advice for my living room/kitchen! lol Thanx again!
        Meg!

  • Laura says:

    Hi. My husband and I are opening a bakery and the theme will be chocolate brown and pink…stripes and polka dots.

    Can you tell me if dark mahogany wood would match this color scheme?!

    Thanks!

    Laura

    • bmeglis says:

      Hi Laura,

      Absolutely. Dark mahogany is rich and wonderfully decadent! Just like every good pastry.

      Good luck with your bakery!

      -Barbara
      Your Home & Color Coach

  • Eddie says:

    Hi Barbara,

    Hi i am simply loving the brown wall idea and will be painting my walls chocolate brown. And i am thinking of what color my ceilings should be? My windows are not that big at all. I was thinking of cream. Would that be a good idea? Also if i were to use rollerblinds with my windows what color should i go for?

    Regards,
    Eddie

    • bmeglis says:

      Hi Eddie,

      With chocolate brown walls, cream will be the warmest choice with cream for the rollerblinds as well. If privacy is not an issue, you might consider woven wood Roman shades instead of rollerblinds for some added texture. As for grey on the ceiling, it will read quite dark. Cream will bounce more light into the room.

      See what you think. If the room is a small bedroom, you might consider a metallic on the ceiling, either creamy or silver. The shine will provide the much-needed light in the room, say nothing of the added drama!

      -Barbara
      Your Home & Color Coach

      • Eddie says:

        Hmm i see.. What tone of chocolate brown would be good? (can i paint the whole room in that color or do i need an accent color (accent color means the color of the wall behind my bed right?))?

        As for the ceiling’s silver or cream, what kind of tones should i go for? I hope you can give me some examples of the colors. They would be really helpful..

        And my wardrobes are on the medium brown wood tone would that complement my wall color and ceiling color?

        Regards,
        Eddie

  • Eddie says:

    sorry but how about light grey for the ceiling too?

    • Eddie says:

      Also, what do you think of the idea of a granite color (dark color) wall? Would that not be a good idea? If its alright, what ceiling color should i go for and do i also need an accent color?

      Regards,
      Eddie

      • bmeglis says:

        Hi again Eddie,

        If the room you’re describing is your bedroom, then whether or not to paint the whole room chocolate depends on the size of the room and the light coming in. However, since bedrooms are primarily for sleeping, it’s okay to go dark with the walls. If there’s a question about living in a cave-like atmosphere (trouble waking up, for example), then I would reserve the dark color for the accent wall behind the bed and choose a lighter color for the other three walls. As for the ceiling, again, it depends on your ceiling height. If you have a low 7-8 ft ceiling, then I would stick with a light color (cream, light gray, light blue, or white).

        Okay, some color ideas: I like your idea of a dark gray (Granite? something like Ben Moore’s Chelsea Gray HC-168?) for an accent wall. With that you could use a very light gray ceiling (Ben Moore’s Dove Wing 960) and a light neutral (Revere Pewter HC-172) for the other walls. Use Dove Wing for the trim in the room (semi-gloss for trim, flat for ceiling paint finish). VERY sophisticated (if I do say so myself). On top of that you would layer your brown woods and you could mix some browns/creams/grays for bedding. Use silver for an accent color or black if the silver is too shiny for you. And then add a punch of color in the artwork and maybe a big orange pillow on the bed.

        How’s that…

        -Barbara
        Your Home & Color Coach

      • Eddie says:

        Thanks for your wonderful advice. I think the grey color walls of different shades is a fantastic idea. I got lost at 2 parts though.

        1. Use Dove Wing for the trim(what do you mean by trim?) in the room (semi-gloss(does that mean those paint that has got slightly reflective finish?) for trim, flat (Flat equals matt finish?) for ceiling paint finish).

        2. So now instead of chelsea grey for the accent wall. You also suggest black or silver(any examples of these 2?)? That sounds interesting…. Thanks for your patience so far :)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Chocolate Brown Nursery at Your Home & Color Coach.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 448 other followers

